jump to navigation

Music News: YG Dominates The Comeback Scene. Get To Know The Choreographers Who Trained Our Favourite YG Artists For Their Comeback With WWLyna! September 19, 2010

Posted by lisameesakasi in 2NE1, Celebrities, Comeback, KPOP, Music, News, SE7EN.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

(L to R: Shaun Evaristo, Keone Madrid, SE7EN, Mariel Martin)

(source)

For 3 years we’ve been waiting for SE7EN‘s comeback and his reintroduction to the kpop scene, and when he stunned us with his comeback song ‘Better Together’ and his follow-up single, ‘Digital Bounce’ we all remembered why we adored the handsome singer.

The same goes for popular girl group, 2NE1. They took the kpop scene by storm when they released their 1st Mini Album last year, captivating their audience with their hits songs, ‘I Don’t Care,’ ‘Fire,’ ‘Try To Copy Me,’ etc. So after a short break they came back stronger than ever with their smash hit album, ‘To Anyone,’ that has since gone on to become possibly the greatest comeback album of the year.

YG artists are known for their stylish hip hop styled dance routines, and recently blogger WWLyna was able to catch up with the choreographers behind SE7EN‘s ‘Digital Bounce’ (Keone Madrid) and 2NE1‘s ‘Clap Your Hands,’ ‘Go Away’ and ‘Can’t Nobody’ (Mariel Martin).

Here is an extract:

Question: What is your basis in creating a concept for choreography?

Mari : Well, it was very difficult to prepare something for 2NE1 when I worked with them because I hadn’t met them yet. All I had to go off of was the internet and some info from Shaun. I had ideas before we went to Seoul, but when we got there we ended up changing things around, making things work for them and highlight them as individuals. I definitely learned how important that is. I’m so used to just dancing for myself, but working with 2NE1 I had to be making stuff for them both as a group and as separate personalities and strengths, so it was different.

Keone :
The first thing I think of is, “how does the song make me feel?”. I believe feeling is so important and if it doesn’t “feel” right then it usually doesn’t look right. For SE7EN I wanted him to feel comfortable, but fresh at the same time. I knew he hadn’t come out in a long time so I had to do something right for HIM.

(Click here for the full interview)

Credits: Lyna4u @ WWLyna

 

(Disclaimer: The above photo and interview material strictly belongs to Lyna4u @ WWLyna. I do not pretend to own any of it and emphasise that the mentioned material belongs solely to her. Thank you. Also, check out her site for further information about Mariel Martin and Keone Madrid!)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

